City

If you have ever visited Ulyanovsk you will never forget its picturesque view of the Volga River, narrow streets in the city-centre and houses built in the 19th century. The territory covers 123 sq.miles, its population is 600 000 people representing over 100 nationalities.

Ulyanovsk is also famous for many talented people born here: writer Ivan Goncharov, historian Nikolay Karamzin, artist Arkady Plastov, politician Vladimir Lenin.

If you wish, you can walk from the centre of the city to its outskirts on foot. The only thing that may prevent you from doing it is windy weather. In Ulyanovsk it is often windy and that’s why some people call it “The Seven-Winds City”. But it also has its advantages – the air in the city is always clean even though its industry is at a rather high level.

The nature of the Ulyanovsk is really unique – forests, steppes, plains and hills coexist here. Ulyanovsk is a city where two rivers – the Volga and the Sviyaga – form a very special zone. The point is that the Sviyaga river is a tributary of the Volga river but it flows in the opposite direction.

The Ulyanovsk region is a part of the Volga Federal District and measuring Russia it is situated not far from the capital of Russia. Ulyanovsk and Moscow are over 867.2 km (468 mi) apart and if you take a train it’ll take you about 15 hours to reach Moscow.

The widest part of the Volga river, which is about 40 km (22 mi), is located in the Ulyanovsk region. Two bridges over the Volga river were built here. One of them called “Presidentsky” is considered to be the longest bridge in Russia.

The population of Ulyanovsk is over 600 thousand people representing over 100 different nationalities: Russian, Tatar, Chuvash and many others.

The history of Ulyanovsk began in the middle of the 17th century. In 1648, according to tsar Alexey Romanov’s decree, boyar Bogdan Khitrovo founded a fortress at the top of the Volga slope to defend the Tsardom of Russia from nomads and called the fortress Simbirsk.

In 1670 Don Cossack Stepan Razin initiated a major uprising in the Volga Region and with his troops tried to besiege Simbirsk. But the siege did not meet with success. Razin was wounded in a battle and after that his comrades took him in a boat away from Simbirsk. In 1672 Simbirsk got its first emblem for defending the fortress from Stepan Razin’s troops. In 1774 Yemelyan Pugachev, the leader of the Cossack Rebellion (1774 – 1775), was interrogated in Simbirsk.

In 1780 Simbirsk became the main town of the new region ruled by governor-general. It turned from a fortress into a provincial town with developed infrastructure. In the richest part of the town there were administrative institutions, schools, private residences, handicraft workshops, public parks and boulevards. A brisk marketplace was situated nearby.

One of the first theatres in Russia and the first public library in the Volga region were opened in Simbirsk.

The city became well-known in the 20th century due to the fact that famous Russian politician Vladimir Ulyanov (Lenin) was born here. In 1924 Simbirsk was given a new name of Ulyanovsk.

During World War II several plants and factories including a part of the Moscow Car-Factory were evacuated from the western regions of the USSR to Ulyanovsk. In 1943 the city became a center of the Ulyanovsk Region.

Modern Ulyanovsk is a city with developed infrastructure, advanced industry and rich cultural life. People involved in the sphere of literature not only preserve the history of the city and popularize the work of its famous writers and poets but also develop new programs, implement new approaches and carry out creative projects. We hold many literary events yearly – International Literary Award named after Goncharov, Poetry Award, Literary festival “Slovo”, International cultural forum discussing also literary topics, etc.

In 2015 Ulyanovsk became the Most Reading Region in Russia. The title was assigned on a competitive basis among the regions which had applied for it.

In the future, we will bring together representatives of the government, business, creative class to implement creative projects, develop literary industries and involve every citizen in the literary life of Ulyanovsk.

People involved in the sphere of literature not only preserve the history of the city and popularize the work of its famous writers and poets but also develop new programs, implement new approaches and carry out creative projects. We hold many literary events yearly – International Literary Award named after Goncharov, Poetry Award, Literary festival “Slovo”, International cultural forum discussing also literary topics, etc.

In 2015 Ulyanovsk became the Most Reading Region in Russia. The title was assigned on a competitive basis among the regions which had applied for it.

In the future, we will bring together representatives of the government, business, creative class to implement creative projects, develop literary industries and involve every citizen in the literary life of Ulyanovsk.

Photo by Dmitry Yushkevich

Город

Город Ульяновск, наверняка ассоциируются у тех, кто здесь побывал, с прекрасными волжскими просторами, узкими улочками и постройками времён XIX века в центре города, а также выдающимися деятелями культуры – писателем Иваном Гончаровым, историком Николаем Карамзиным, художником Аркадием Пластовым и, конечно, известным политическим деятелем Владимиром Ульяновым.

Территория города составляет 622,5 кв. км, населяет Ульяновск более 600 000 человек около 100 различных национальностей – здесь можно встретить и русских, и татар, и чуваш, и мокшан, и представителей многих других национальностей.

При желании из центра Ульяновска можно пешком дойти почти до самой окраины города – единственным неудобством может стать ветреная погода, которая здесь далеко не редкость. За это Ульяновск многие называют «Городом семи ветров». Однако у этого явления есть и свои плюсы – несмотря на то, что промышленность достаточно развита, воздух даже в центре города всегда чист.

Ульяновск – это город, где две реки, Волга и Свияга, формируют «междуречье» - уникальную по энергетике территорию. Дело в том, что Свияга, хотя и является притоком Волги, протекает здесь в противоположном от неё направлении.

Регион находится на территории Приволжского федерального округа и по российским меркам недалеко от столицы – от Ульяновска до Москвы около 900 км, которые можно преодолеть на поезде за 15 часов.

На территории Ульяновской области располагается самая широкая часть Волги – её ширина здесь достигает 40 километров. В Ульяновске построено два моста через Волгу: «Императорский» и «Президентский», последний из которых является самым длинным мостом в России.

История Ульяновска уходит в середину XVII века. В 1648 году боярин Богдан Хитрово по указу царя Алексея Михайловича с целью защиты восточных границ Русского царства от набега кочевых племён основал на самой вершине высокого волжского косогора город-крепость, который он назвал Симбирском.

Осенью 1670 года Симбирск осаждало войско Степана Разина. Разин не смог успешно завершить осаду, был ранен в бою, после чего товарищи вынесли его к реке, погрузили в лодку и отплыли вниз по Волге. В 1672 году за оборону от Степана Разина Симбирску был пожалован первый герб. В 1774 году в Симбирске допрашивали пленного Емельяна Пугачёва, предводителя Крестьянской воины 1773 – 1775 гг. в России.

В 1780 году Симбирск стал главным городом вновь учреждённого наместничества. Он превратился из города-крепости в провинциальный город с развитой инфраструктурой. Самая лучшая и богатая его часть была расположена на Венце, где находились соборы, губернские административные учреждения, учебные заведения, частные особняки, ремесленные мастерские, общественные сады и бульвары. Рядом располагалась оживленная торговая часть города.

В Симбирске был открыт один из первых театров России и первая в Поволжье Карамзинская общественная библиотека.

Наибольшую известность город получил как родина Владимира Ильича Ульянова (Ленина). В связи с этим в 1924 г. Симбирск был переименован в Ульяновск.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны 1941 – 1945 гг. в Ульяновске был развернут ряд эвакуированных из западных районов СССР промышленных предприятий, в том числе часть Московского автозавода. В 1943 г. город стал центром вновь образованной Ульяновской области.

Современный Ульяновск – это город с хорошей инфраструктурой, развитой промышленностью и богатой культурной жизнью. Здесь расположено крупнейшее в России предприятие по производству самолетов ЗАО «Авиастар-СП», которое выпускает пассажирские самолеты Ту-204 различных модификаций, а также крупнейший производитель внедорожников на территории Восточной Европы ОАО «УАЗ».

Ульяновск – это единственный город в Приволжском федеральном округе, на территории которого расположены два аэропорта класса «А»: «Ульяновск – Центральный» и международный аэропорт «Ульяновск – Восточный». Оба аэропорта позволяют принимать воздушные суда всех типов без ограничений взлетной массы. Аэропорт «Ульяновск – Восточный» может принимать даже космические челноки. Другой аэропорт знаменит тем, что на его территории снимали известные кадры из популярной комедии Эльдара Рязанова «Приключения итальянцев в России».

В регионе большое внимание уделяется культуре и культурной политике, а также литературе. Люди, работающее в области литературы, стремятся не только сохранять историю города и популяризировать творчество известных писателей и поэтов, но и внедрять новые подходы и реализовывать креативные проекты. Ежегодно здесь проводится множество литературных мероприятий: Международная литературная премия им. И.А. Гончарова, Поэтическая премия, Литературный фестиваль «Слово», Международный культурный форум, посвящённый в том числе вопросам культуры.

В 2015 году Ульяновск получил статус Самого читающего региона России, а также вошёл в Сеть креативных городов ЮНЕСКО по направлению «Литература».

Фото: Дмитрий Юшкевич


Писатели Ульяновска